Angel's Alumni

Home » Uncategorized » The 5 Stages of Grief: Sobriety Edition

The 5 Stages of Grief: Sobriety Edition

Google+

- Place this tag in your head or just before your close body tag. -->

Life To Be Continued

moderate-alcohol-consumption-beneficial

Sometimes I still ache for the rush of an alcohol-fueled night of the unknown. Sometimes I miss the way booze could make problems dissipate. Sometimes I wish that I could be a normal 22-year-old.

And sometimes – hell, most times – being young and sober is really fucking hard.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m beyond grateful to be sober today. Sobriety has made me healthier and happier, has improved my relationships and has taught me about my strengths and weaknesses. The pros outweigh the cons by a longshot.

But that doesn’t mean the cons don’t rear their heads once in a while. I tend to live in my happy, glowing sobriety bubble and I’d love it if I could take up permanent residence there.

But that’s not realistic.

What’s realistic is that sobriety is difficult – like lay-in-bed-and-sob- out-of-frustration, throw-a-pity-party difficult.

And when things get difficult, I resent them. Although I…

View original post 561 more words

Leave a Reply

